Thursday, September 3, 2015  I have noticed Ty is more confident in general. This is especially true after our adventure at the forest a few days ago. I see it in simple things too. Like, for example, when he pees now, he is starting to lift his back leg like a male dog, instead of stretching out like  a gelded horse. Yes, he is neutered, but this came about only a short time before I adopted him. For roughly six years, he’d been an intact male. He is now actively searching for things to hike his leg up against and exploring further to pee–enlarging  his territory. His way of saying, “My name is Ty and I was here.”

Sunday, September 6, 2015 I have been doing yard work on the outside part of the fenced yard while Ty runs free inside the confines. He isn’t happy about the barrier– a chain link fence four feet high–so he stands and watches me. No running about, no pacing, no whining. Just standing and watching. He is only happy again when I go to the gate to collect him so we can return to the porch together.

Once I had some garden stakes  in my hand that I was taking to store away. He eyed them warily, thinking it over. Previously, when I carried sticks or anything stick-like, he bolted, tail tucked and ears back. Today, he studied the situation and realized they posed no threat. No bolts required. Silly goose.

My nickname for Ty lately: Silly Goose. He earns it honestly. Like, take his bed. Now he sleeps in the bedroom each night by me, by choice. He has two beds in there, a smaller, thinner green bed more suitable for the cats and a larger, thicker pink bed more suitable for a big dog. So which one can he possibly prefer? Why the smaller, thinner green one, of course. My silly goose.

Thursday, September 8, 2015 I am so very proud of Ty. A plumber came to the house, he was working under the kitchen sink, right next to Ty and in his cave space.  The plumber sawed through some pipes and drilled a snake cable through the pipes. He made all sorts of loud noises, endlessly so, with pops, grinds and buzzing.

And Ty sitting less than three feet away?

I expected absolute fear. What I saw instead was some panting and drooling, sure, but no budging. No recoiling. No down on his belly. He wasn’t thrilled for sure, but he wasn’t panicked either.

Finally I was able to take him for a walk and the man left his wheeled equipment on the porch, blocking us in. There was a narrow path on one side to get down. Calmly, bypassing the bulky machinery, Ty followed me off the porch. Yeah! So brave.

Sunday, September 20, 2015 Tomorrow will mark the 6-month anniversary since Ty’s adoption. In the last week, I have witnessed his confidence continue to grow and his self control increase. I’ve seen his sense of humor develop that I’ve only sensed hidden below until recently. His obedience remains spotty, but I don’t push it and that’s my choice. He has the basics down and I accept he will never be a titled obedience champion.

In the house, he stays in the cave where he is more comfortable. At night, we share the bedroom. The rest of the house is mine. And the cats and the bird. When I work in the study, where I usually am, he pokes his head in toward me and quickly returns to his cave. At night, he’s usually the first one to go to bed now after our final walk.

Outside I can leave him within the fenced yard while I stay within sight out of the yard. As long as he can see me, he doesn’t get anxious, just watchful. I would never yet trust him to leave his sight. Ty leaving PAWS 8-21-15At the dog park, he’s aloof. He avoids most people and selective who he plays with. He indicates when he is ready to go and our visits are fairly short. He is still uncertain but learning. He does come when called, which is important there.

In the fence at home, he may or may not come when called. Peek-a-boo is becoming his favorite game–not mine. Part of that sense of humor and his discovering himself. He is worse to play this at night.

We went to the dog park today. He was excited for the ride, which he loves car rides, but seemed unimpressed with the destination. He cared little for the dogs already there playing so it was a short visit.

 

